Nicole

…she gives me an ultimatum; become more than a friend to her, or I’ll never see her again. Apparently, she has a friend in Venezuela who has proposed to her. She wants to be sure that she’s making the right decision.

I offer her congratulations on her nuptial bliss. She hangs up the phone. 

A year later, she returns from Venezuela on vacation with her husband, a tall and handsome well-built man. She introduces him to me with smug self-satisfaction. He is an upgrade to what I am, and what I lost in her he has gained.

I see her five years later. She tells me that she is divorced and available once more. I have never been to Venezuela…

Nicole

...

