Sensitive to Touch – Networking

At the university networking meeting, as I am being introduced to the group, my research focus is announced as Touch Sensitivity & Proximity Sensitivity. That it pertains to the implementation of these in Interactive Art is not mentioned.

There is a murmur among a particular group of women, one of whom approaches me as I stand alone sipping bottled water during the mingling period.

She is attractive, with a neat skull, well-defined lips, and a radio-personality’s voice.

Apologizing up front for being facetious, she tells me that when they heard what I do her group decided they must find out more from me about “touch” and “proximity” sensitivity.

I put my bottle of water down on the table behind me and turn around to address her questions. After our conversation, I reach for the water bottle. It’s gone…

...

