At the Movies – Lana

I have been acquainted with Lana for a several years.

A mutual friend decides that we should get to know each other better, so we agree to go to the movies together. Lana is tall, slim, and dark. Her shoulders are square, almost as though she is wearing shoulder pads under her teal blouse. She wrinkles her nose frequently to adjust her glasses.

We sit waiting for the movie to begin. During this time I notice something peculiar about Lana. She laughs at everything I say. Everything.

This is not an occasional chuckle at some joke or sarcastic comment. Lana laughs raucously at everything. Every sentence.

As yet, the lights in the movie theatre have not been dimmed. People begin taking furtive glances at us. I am beginning to feel uneasy…

At the Movies – Lana

2 thoughts on “At the Movies – Lana

  1. […] Despite her raucous laughter at inappropriate moments during the movie, which was not comedy, I did enjoy Lorna’s company. I get a taxi to take her home, and we go our separate ways.A few weeks later I get a telephone call from Lorna; she wants me to teach her something on her computer for a course she is taking. Reluctantly, I agree and take directions to her apartment.As I get out of the taxi, I realize that I am not in the safest part of town. She meets me near a basketball court and we walk the rest of the way to her door on the fourth floor of an apartment building. Along the way the stairwell is dark, the elevator doesn’t work, and we skip between one or two indisposed gentlemen, and scantily clad women. […]

    Like

  2. […] Despite her raucous laughter at inappropriate moments during the movie, which was not comedy, I did enjoy Lana’s company. I get a taxi to take her home, and we go our separate ways.A few weeks later I get a telephone call from Lana; she wants me to teach her something on her computer for a course she is taking. Reluctantly, I agree and take directions to her apartment.As I get out of the taxi, I realize that I am not in the safest part of town. She meets me near a basketball court and we walk the rest of the way to her door on the fourth floor of an apartment building. Along the way the stairwell is dark, the elevator doesn’t work, and we skip between one or two indisposed gentlemen, and scantily clad women. […]

    Like

...

