I Was Her Grooms Man – Patricia

There is someone at my gates. I recognize the vehicle; a long-time acquaintance. He has come with his wife and two kids, but there’s someone else in the SUV; Patricia, an old friend that I haven’t seen in over ten years.

The last time I saw Patricia she was a bridesmaid at a wedding. I was her grooms man. We danced.

Today, I change into a clean shirt and go to the gate to meet them. I haven’t shaved in three days and I can’t remember if I’ve brushed my teeth. My ankles are ashy.

Outside we chat for a while. My friend’s six year old daughter swings on my arm, while his son punches my shoulder repeatedly.

Patricia expects me to keep in touch via Skype.

I Was Her Grooms Man – Patricia

One thought on “I Was Her Grooms Man – Patricia

...

