“Other Women”

The waitress takes my order, then turns to my platonic dinner companion, telling her that the week before I had ordered the same thing while dining with another woman. More precisely, she alludes to my frequenting the establishment with “other women”.

Two weeks later, while dining alone, I notice that the waitress is unusually curt with me; as though she expects me to inquire regarding her welfare. I oblige and she responds, asking if I am trying to make her jealous by coming there with different women.

She stands awaiting my answer…

“Other Women”

...

