Calling Angel

Angel’s new job at the Jamaican diner makes it difficult for us to maintain our schedule of her meeting me on campus every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. To make up for this, I read poetry to her every night over the telephone until she falls asleep.

However, her disposition seems to have changed. Every night I upset her with something I say, and she ends our conversation abruptly. On the following day she is fine; friendly and acting like herself. But if I begin to ask what it was that I said the night before to upset her, she gets angry again and hangs up the phone.

This happens every night…

Calling Angel

...

