Hurts Me More Than You

Jacqueline, a Haitian girl, is of less girth than Lisa, but her height and strength make up for this. I know she is strong because of her penchant for punching my shoulder whenever we meet, and otherwise assaulting me during casual conversation. I do not know the name of her burly Jamaican friend, only that the salutation she always extends to me is a reverse nod of her head, and with a heavy voice, “Whum Now”, which I take to be a contraction of “What happen now”, or “What’s happening.”

Hurts Me More Than You

...

