On The House

It is my turn to order at the counter. The cashier turns to the back:
“Is his order ready?”
“No, I didn’t see him in the line. He’ll have to wait a few minutes.”
The cashier leaves the register to see to it personally. I have not yet said a word. She returns with a look of embarrassment;

“We’re usually looking out for you. She’s disappointed me this time.”

“That’s not a problem,” I attempt to pay.


She secretly gestures that my order is on the house. A few other customers notice and stifle their surprise.
My order is ready. She knows that I don’t want condiments; just napkins. I thank them for their kindness.

Nearby, a woman sitting with friends is trying to get my attention. I look up, and she hands me her mobile phone. She wants me to take a photo of her group of girlfriends. I oblige.
As I type this, the woman clearing the tables smiles as she wipes the one adjacent to me. She takes something to the bin, then passes by; pushing a chair at my table in with her hip.

Later, the cashier at the grocery store holds up the line while she discusses Ginger Nut cookies with me.

On The House

...

