Banana Free

It is 6 pm. I’m walking through the city, on my way to the book launch at the public library.

I begin feeling hungry. Fortunately, a block away, I see a fruit stand with bunches of bananas hanging from the eaves. Approaching the proprietor, I ask if it is possible to purchase a single banana.

He turns to look at me, then says, “Take one.”

I choose a banana, and return to him to pay for it.

“I told you you can take one,” he says. He seems annoyed.

Confused, I thank him for the free banana and leave.

Pedestrians along Frederick Street stare at me as I walk while eating the banana. A few women smile…

...

