Mud Puppies

I turn to find the back door already wide open. Reaching for the shovel, I prepare myself for the task of shovelling several days of dog droppings, but a rustling in a nearby tree catches my attention.

In the branches is a man; hiding. Using the shovel, I begin hacking away at the tree trunk to bring it down, but the waters flooding the backyard rise to my knees.

I’m interrupted by the sound of my dog who is struggling in the rising tide. Instead I find two white, female dogs with large brown spots whimpering next to a concrete box which contains several black pups being gradually submerged in the muddy water.

I rescue them.

Mud Puppies

...

