Come Out and Play

It is Blue Hour. I am walking outdoors when a large creature flaps past my head, not two feet away from me. By the time I recognize what it is, it is looping around a tree and disappearing into the dimming light.
Within a few seconds, I see its silhouette returning; this time with two others like it. They each have wing spans of about two feet. And for the next ten minutes I stand still as the three circle around me, looping between the trees, then returning so close I feel the wind from their wings.
I do not know what they want but it is getting late. Leaving them behind I make my way home.
The bats are playful tonight.

...

