Over Simplification

 Thursday 22nd October 2015 at 11:02 am

“I need to change my name on the official document.”

“You’re changing your name? Interesting… This is so exciting!”
“What is?”
“Changing your identity. It’s exciting; you can become whomever you want to be.”
“I can. And it’s not the first time I’ve changed.”
“Are you serious? Intriguing…”
“It does get complicated sometimes.”
“How so?”
“Recently, I met a couple at the grocery store, but each person knew me by a different name. It must not be easy to trust some one with multiple identities. I could be lying to you right now.”
“Do you have two forms of ID with you?”
“No, just this one. Is that going to be a problem?”
“No, it’s ok. You seem trustworthy. This is so exciting… I’m sorry, but I’ve never met anyone like this before.”
“Maybe that’s a good thing.”
“Why would you say that?”
“I could be anyone. I could have… secrets.”
“True. But you don’t seem… I’m sorry; this is just so exciting!”
“Shouldn’t you double check the documents I gave to you.”
“I’ll just pretend to check them since I don’t think you’d go to this much trouble to fool me. I don’t mean to pry, but I’m just wondering, ‘Why?'”
“Sometimes life gets complicated. Starting over simplifies. Are there any fees involved?”
“No, everything is fixed.” She hands over the amended documents.
“Thank you very much. You made this process quite pleasurable.”
“You’re welcome. Take care.”
“I always do.”

...

