Sweet Beets

August 20, 2016 4:45pm

“Hi, I need to talk to you later; I have a number for you.”

“A number? What kind of number? Why don’t you just talk to me now?”

“A friend of mine saw you out in the parking lot a few months ago. She finds you attractive; she gave me her phone number to give to you.”

*** She hands me a lightly crumpled, folded slip of paper which I unfold. It is a receipt for Order #3-1**, one 7.5 oz bag of Pepperidge Farm Double Chocolate Milano Cookies and one 12 oz bottle of Suja Sweet Beets Juice, at a place called G-Spot. Exasperated, she snatches the receipt and flips it over to show me the writing on the other side; a name and mobile phone number.***

“Wait, I think I remember her; she’s pretty. But, didn’t you tell her about me; that I’m a recluse and I don’t like talking on the phone?”

“No, you’re going to have to tell her that yourself.”

 

Sweet Beets

...

